FIve String Pheasant Wood Tenor

Today I completed and shipped a rather unusual five string tenor ukulele. The back and side woods are Pheasant wood. I had never seen or worked with the wood before and it turned out very nice however, being a open grained wood with a higher than normal oil content, it was a bear to finish. I probably spent at least twice as much time on the finish process than I normally do. 

The top wood was Bearclaw Sitka and the bindings curly Koa. The neck mahogany and the tuners are the Peghed brand planetary tuning machines. The pheasant inlay on the head plate was Paua abalone and the feather at the end of the body was gold Mother-of-pearl. The five string configuration is a high/low G strings with normal C,E,A tuning on the other three. The volume of this little tenor was impressive Imageand the sound very full with the extra string.

The customer lives in Georgia and was a delight to work with. I told him that if he wasn’t completely satisfied with the instrument, I would gladly accept it back to add to my inventory!  :)ImageImageImageImage

About jcclarkukuleles

I'm a retired Navy Fighter pilot who began building classical guitars and ukuleles in Tucson in 2004. I moved back to my boyhood town here in Nebraska in the summer of 2006 and continued building classical and parlor guitars as well as all four sizes of ukuleles. I am a member of The Guild of American Luthiers and The Association of Stringed Instrument Artisans. I also write a regular column for GuitrarMaker magazine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FIve String Pheasant Wood Tenor

  1. Jerry Lewis says:

    Jack, really like the look of the 5 string tenor. Let’s do one for me….

Leave a Reply

